Minimum Wage to Increase in Several States This Summer
The minimum wage rates are set to rise in a number of states over the coming months, generally as follows:
- California: $9.00 per hour, effective July 1, 2014
- Delaware: $7.75 per hour, effective June 1, 2014
- District of Columbia: $9.50 per hour, effective July 1, 2014
- Michigan: $8.15 per hour, effective September 1, 2014
- Minnesota: $8.00 per hour (enterprises with annual gross volume of sales of $500,000 or more) and $6.50 per hour (enterprises with annual gross volume of sales of less than $500,000), effective August 1, 2014
If an employee is subject to both state and federal minimum wage laws, the employee is entitled to the higher minimum wage. Be sure to comply with any city or other local wage requirements (which may be higher than the state or federal minimum wage) that may apply to your business.